The 2022 Indian Presidental election was the 16th election for the president of India. The tenure of the President is for 5 years and so was the term of the current President Ram Nath Kovind was to end in July 2022. The fresh election took place on 18 July 2022 between BJP candidate Droupadi Murmu and UPA candidate Yashwant Sinha.The Election decides the Head of the state.

BJP candidate Droupadi Murmu defeated UPA candidate Yashwant Sinha with a margin of 2,96,626 votes and became the 15th president of India. She is the first tribal and second woman to be President of India and the 1st president born post-independence and is also the youngest among them. She received 64.03 % of the total valid votes polled.

Droupadi Murmu was born on June 20, 1958 village called Baidaposi in the Mayurbhanj district of Orissa. She belongs to the ST family and had to face hardships to complete her school, despite being born into an educated family. Before joining BJP in 1997 she was a school teacher at Shri Aurobindo Integral education center in Rairangpur. She started her political career as a councilor of Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat and also once became the National Vice President of BJP schedule tribe morcha. As a member of the BJP, she became the 1st tribal person to be Jharkhand Governor. She belongs to the Santhal community. Her husband’s name is Shyam Charan Murmu and has 3 children. Her father’s name is Biranchi Narayan Tudu. She won Nilkantha Award for Best MLA in 2007 by Odisha Legislative assembly.

Leave a Comment